The structured interview

The structured interview is an interview with two EPSO assessors. With the help of an already developed questionnaire, the assessors figure out how you acted in the past to examine your professional skills. They would like to assess, how you behaviour matches with certain competencies of the EPSO competency framework. Your description of your past behaviour is rated on a scale from 1 "very weak" to 10 "outstanding". In order to achieve the highest possible score, we recommend three steps to be best prepared for the structured interview: 1.) Clarifying what the EPSO competences actually mean; 2.) identifying suitable professional situations and experiences; and 3.) working on the optimal presentation of professional experience.

We are happy to assist you at all three steps and train and simulate the interview with you online. Send a short e-mail with the subject: Coaching "Structured Interview" to training (at) euphorum.org.

The tested competences, such as resilience or working with others are listed in the respective open note of the competition. EPSO has prepared standardised tasks for each competence. The task "Please describe a very stressful situation from your working life!" gives you the opportunity to show how resilient you have acted in the past.

EPSO has published the definitions of the general competences in the Guidelines governing general competitions. Resilience is defined as follows: "Remain effective under a heavy workload, handle organisational frustrations positively and adapt to a changing work environment".

As first step, you will work out what the tested competence actually means. You will be resilient, if

  • you can adjust yourself to peaks of workload,
  • you correctly assess your own capacities,
  • you are not stresses because of lots of tasks or many deadlines or
  • you are able to cope with uncertainty.

As second step you identify professional experiences and situations, about which you can talk to proof that you were able to implement the competencies. Objective is to gain as many points as possible. A suitable and well proven method to structure your answers is STAR: Situation, Tasks, Action and Result. You have to clarify:

Situation: What was the problem? Who was involved?

Tasks: What was you concrete task? What were the objectives?

Action: What did you do? Clarify also, for which reason you acted and what has driven you. EPSO is interested in persons who are able to review their behaviour. One problem or challenge does not automatically lead to THE solution. In many cases several options are plausible and likely. Explain to the assessors for which reason you chose one specific option.

Result: And what was the result or impact of your action? Did you succeed? What is the conclusion you draw?

We will simulate the structured interview with you online and use Skype, TeamViewer or Blizz. You receive a detailed feedback, to even get more points at the interview. We have already prepared more than 100 candidates.

How do you arrange a coaching with us?

Send a brief mail with the subject "Coaching - Structured Interview" to training(at)euphorum.org. Please, inform us about the open competition you have applied for. We will get in touch with you to clarify you specific demand.

Das strukturierte Interview

Das strukturierte Interview ist eine Einzelübung, die zwei EPSO-Assessoren mit Ihnen durchführen. Mit Hilfe eines vorgefertigten Fragenkatalogs wird geprüft, wie Sie im beruflichen Kontext allgemeine EPSO-Kompetenzen bisher umgesetzt haben. Die Darstellung Ihres bisherigen Verhaltens wird auf einer Skala von 1 "sehr schwach" bis 10 "herausragend" bewertet. Um eine möglichst hohe Punktzahl zu erzielen, empfehlen wir zur Vorbereitung auf das strukturierte Gespräch drei Schritte: 1.) Klärung, was die EPSO-Kompetenzen konkret bedeuten; 2.) Identifizieren geeigneter beruflicher Situationen und Erfahrungen und 3.) Arbeit an der optimalen Darstellung der beruflichen Erfahrungen.

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie, bei allen drei Schritten und trainieren und simulieren mit Ihnen online das Interview. Senden Sie eine kurze E-Mail mit dem Betreff: Coaching "Strukturiertes Interview" an training(at)euphorum.org.

Die geprüften Kompetenzen, wie z.B. Belastbarkeit oder Teamfähigkeit werden in der jeweiligen Ausschreibung aufgelistet. EPSO hat für jede Kompetenz standardisierte Aufgaben vorbereitet. Die Aufgabe "Schildern Sie bitte eine sehr belastende Situation aus Ihrem Arbeitsleben!" gibt Ihnen die Möglichkeit, zu zeigen, wie Sie in der der Vergangenheit belastbar agiert haben.

EPSO hat im Allgemeinen Leitfaden für die Auswahlverfahren bisher die Definitionen der allgemeinen Kompetenzen veröffentlicht. Belastbarkeit wird hier folgendermaßen definiert: "Sie arbeiten auch unter hoher Belastung effektiv, gehen mit organisatorischen Schwierigkeiten positiv um und passen sich an Veränderungen im Arbeitsumfeld an."

Im ersten Schritt erarbeiten Sie sich, was die geprüfte Kompetenz konkret bedeutet. Sie sind z.B. belastbar, wenn

  • Sie sich an Spitzen bei der Arbeitsbelastung anpassen können,
  • Sie Ihre Kapazitäten richtig selbst einschätzen können
  • Sie sich nicht stressen lassen oder sich durch viele Aufgaben oder enge Fristen einschränken lassen oder
  • Sie mit Unsicherheiten umgehen können.

Identifizieren Sie nun berufliche Erfahrungen und Situationen, die geeignet sind, Ihr Verhalten darzustellen und eine hohe Punktzahl zu erzielen. Eine bewährte Methode, auf die Fragen der Assessoren zu antworten, ist die STAR-Methode: Situation, Tasks, Action, Result. Klären Sie also für sich:

Situation: Wer war involviert? Was war das Problem?

Tasks: Was waren Ihre konkreten Aufgaben und Zuständigkeit? Was waren die Ziele?

Action: Was haben getan? Klären Sie für sich auch, aus welchen Überlegungen und Gründen Sie damals gehandelt haben. EPSO interessiert, wie reflektierend Sie handeln. Ein Problem führt nicht zwangsläufig zu einer bestimmten Lösung. Häufig gibt es mehrere Möglichkeiten zu reagieren. Welche Optionen tauchten damals auf? Welche haben Sie gewählt? Wie sahen Ihre Abwägungen aus?

Result: Und wie sah das Ergebnis aus? Welche Wirkung hatte Ihre Handlung? Haben Sie Lehren aus der Erfahrung gezogen?

Das strukturierte Gespräch werden wir im dritten Schritt mit Ihnen online simulieren. Wir nutzen dafür Skype, TeamViewer oder Blizz. Sie erhalten ein ausführliches Feedback, um noch mehr Punkte bei dieser Prüfung zu erzielen. Wir haben schon über 100 Kandidaten/-innen vorbereiten können.

Wie vereinbaren Sie ein Coaching mit uns?

Senden Sie eine kurze E-Mail mit dem Betreff: Coaching "Strukturiertes Interview" an training(at)euphorum.org. Geben Sie bitte Ihr Auswahlverfahren an. Wir setzen uns dann mit Ihnen in Verbindung und klären u.a. mit Ihnen den konkreten Bedarf.